A Catholic Convert in Ottawa

At the Centre

Posted on: August 5, 2013

Jesus

Be my centre

Be my source, be my light

Jesus

“Be the Centre” by Michael Frye

Yesterday, our priest preached about the Parable of the Rich Fool (see Luke 12:13-21). He pointed out how the man planned to rest and enjoy himself and kept saying, “I will do this, and I will do that,” but made no mention of his neighbours, his family or God. It was all about him and what he wanted.

Then the priest talked about the importance of having our priorities right. If we focus on acquiring possessions, we may find our possessions possess us. But, as he went on to say, it goes beyond obsessing about possessions to include anything we are too attached to.

It’s easy to say that we live within our means, we don’t have the biggest house or the most expensive car, and we save money, so this can’t apply to us.

But I believe many of us, if we think about it, will recognize we are too attached to something. Perhaps watching sports, playing video games, going out with our friends, or working long hours instead of spending time with our family. Or maybe pursuing hobbies the way we did before we were married and had children.

I know from experience that priorities can be skewed. This weekend, for example, I made some great progress on my family tree research. I got so wrapped up in it that I spent a good two hours on the computer when we had plans for family movie time. Even though the stories of my ancestors truly interest me, I know that finding the information can wait. I want to know my family history to share it with my family, but it’s more important to share my time with my husband and my son. So I shut down the computer for the night and had fun watching an old comedy with my family and our new cat, Pixie, instead.

I pray that we would take a close look at our lives to see where our priorities are and where we need to make some adjustments, whether minor or major. Do we need to keep an eye on the time we spend surfing the Internet, researching our family tree or scrapbooking (two big ones for me), or pursuing other activities or even material things that draw us away from spending time with our family and God or from using our talents and treasure in ways that please the Lord? As Jesus told us, “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also” (Luke 12:34)*.

(*Quotes from the Holy Bible, Revised Standard Version, Second Catholic Edition.)

Food for Thought

(Y)ou do not know about tomorrow. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and we shall do this or that.” ~ James 4:14-15

Please enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Archives

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

roses near running waters

Just a Catholic wife & mama living a life full of wonder

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

